Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Just released (U.S.): The Quest Begins (Seekers book 1)

The Quest Begins (Seekers book 1) by Erin Hunter was just released in the U.S.

Description: From the author of the nationally bestselling Warriors books comes a brand-new animal fantasy series. Three young bears from different species—black, polar, and grizzly—are separated from their families when they are just young cubs. They find themselves brought together on a perilous journey. Fate is about to change all these bears' lives forever, setting their paws on a path toward a future they cannot yet imagine...
Click here for more information.

Friday, May 2, 2008

Just released (U.S.): Moribito: Guardian Of The Spirit

Moribito: Guardian Of The Spirit by Nahoko Uehashi was just released in the U.S.

Description: Above all, before everything. Balsa is a fighter. She protects children and adults, the rich and the poor, in a quest to redeem eight lives lost for her sake. She is a master of the short spear and expert in the martial arts, dazzling even her opponents with her fearlessness in combat. And she will need every one of her skills in her latest job: guarding the Second Prince, Chagum. For the prince is the Moribito - the Guardian of the Spirit - chosen to deliver the egg of the Water spirit to its home in the distant sea. If he fails, a drought will devastate the land of New Yogo. But as Balsa and Chagum travel across the country, learning more about the spirit and the secret history of the empire, they find themselves hunted by two deadly enemies: the egg-eating monster, Rarunga...and the prince's own father.
Click here for more information.

Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Just released (U.S.): Ink Exchange

Ink Exchange by Melissa Marr was just released in the U.S.

Description: On the surface, Leslie seems like a normal teen, but she hides the truth of her life from her friends. Ever since her mother left, Leslie's life has been difficult. Her father has basically abdicated responsibility for the family, and Leslie's drug-addicted brother controls the house. Leslie tries to pay the bills when she can, and stay out of the way of her brother's drug dealing cronies - especially since some of those cronies raped her with her brother's permission for payment of his debt. Leslie lives in fear, but she's determined to take control of her life. She decides to get a tattoo as a symbol, a promise to herself, and a way to reclaim her own body. One of Leslie's friends is Aislinn, the new Summer Queen of the faerie. But Aislinn is keeping her own secrets - she doesn't tell Leslie about her new faerie life, or that her new friends are not human. Aislinn wants Leslie to have as normal a life as possible, so she has forbidden any of the faerie to reveal themselves or their nature to Leslie. But keeping secrets can have unforeseen consequences. Leslie doesn't realize that her new tattoo will tie her to the faerie King of the Dark Court, Irial. Nor does she know that Aislinn's friend Niall, who appears to show an interest in her, is really a faerie whose powers are devastating to mortals. As Leslie becomes more closely tied to the Dark Court, she finds the darkness exhilarating and liberating. But the price that Leslie has to pay for freedom from fear may be more than she is willing to pay.
Click here for more information.

Just released (U.S.): Dragon Flight

Dragon Flight by Jessica Day George was just released in the U.S.

Description: With the Dragon Wars over, Creel finds herself bored with life as a seamstress. Then word comes that a bordering country has been breeding dragons in preparation for an invasion. Never one to sit around, Creel throws herself headlong into an adventure that will reunite her with her dragon friend Shardas, pit her against a vicious new enemy and perhaps rekindle a friendship with Prince Luka that seems to have gone cold. Sequel to Dragon Slippers.
Click here for more information.

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Forthcoming book (U.S.): The Diamond of Darkhold: The Fourth Book of Ember (Book of Ember book 4)

The Diamond of Darkhold: The Fourth Book of Ember (Book of Ember book 4) by Jeanne Duprau will be released on August 26, 2008 in the U.S.

Description: It's been several months since Lina and Doon escaped the dying city of Ember and, along with the rest of their people, joined the town of Sparks. Now, struggling through the harsh winter aboveground, they find an unusual book. Torn up and missing most of its pages, it alludes to a mysterious device from before the Disaster, which they believe is still in Ember. Together, Lina and Doon must go back underground to retrieve what was lost and bring light to a dark world.
Click here for more information.

Forthcoming book (U.S.): Alfred Kropp: The Thirteenth Skull (Alfred Kropp book 3)

Alfred Kropp: The Thirteenth Skull (Alfred Kropp book 3) by Rick Yancey will be released on June 24, 2008 in the U.S.

Description: Alfred Kropp lost - then found - the legendary sword Excalibur. Then he defeated King Paimon, arguably the nastiest of demons ever to roam the earth. What could possibly be in store for him now? Plenty. Not only is a dangerous new enemy tracking Alfred's every move, even the people who have sworn to protect him no longer seem trustworthy. Who, or what, is "Sofia," and is there a connection between Sofia and the mysterious Thirteen Skull? The reluctant hero who has always narrowly avoided death may not be getting out of this adventure alive. Just right for fans of Alex Rider and Stephen King, this third installment in Rick Yancey's acclaimed series is a compulsive page turner readers won't soon forget.
Click here for more information.

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Just released (U.S.): Outcast (Warriors: Power of Three book 3)

Outcast (Warriors: Power of Three book 3) by Erin Hunter was just released in the U.S.

Description: A secret prophecy shapes the lives of Firestar's grandchildren, but only one of the three knows about it. Jaypaw is captivated by the power it promises, and he believes the key to that power may lie buried in the distant past -- with the ancient cats who once walked these woods and now prowl through his dreams. His search for answers leads him toward the mountains -- the home of the Tribe of Rushing Water. Lionpaw and Hollypaw feel drawn to the mountains too, for different reasons. But the mountains hide secrets as well as answers, and if the three cats find a way to get there, they may discover more than they ever expected.
Click here for more information.

Just released (U.S.): Warrior's Return (Warriors Manga book 3)

Warrior's Return (Warriors Manga book 3) by Erin Hunter was just released in the U.S.

Description:
Click here for more information.

Friday, April 11, 2008

Just released (U.S.): The Sisters Grimm: Tales From the Hood (The Sisters Grimm book 6)

The Sisters Grimm: Tales From the Hood (The Sisters Grimm book 6) by Michael Buckley was just released in the U.S.

Description: This book sees Mr. Canis, dear friend and protector of the Grimm family, put on trial for past crimes. Considering that he's really the Big Bad Wolf, he has a lot to answer for. Is there any truth to the story told by Little Red Riding Hood? What's the deal with all that huffing and puffing? Will Mr. Canis be forced to answer for his crimes? A kangaroo court of Everafters, led by the cruel Queen of Hearts, is determined to find Canis guilty and force the Grimms out of Ferryport Landing. Meanwhile, Puck has decided to focus more on his mischievous ways, making a few new troublemaker friends. So it's up to Sabrina and Daphne to find evidence to save Canis - and their investigation may reveal more than they hoped.
Click here for more information.

Thursday, April 10, 2008

Forthcoming book (U.S.): The Sisters Grimm: Tales From the Hood (The Sisters Grimm book 6)

The Sisters Grimm: Tales From the Hood (The Sisters Grimm book 6) by Michael Buckley will be released on May 1, 2008 in the U.S.

Description: This book sees Mr. Canis, dear friend and protector of the Grimm family, put on trial for past crimes. Considering that he's really the Big Bad Wolf, he has a lot to answer for. Is there any truth to the story told by Little Red Riding Hood? What's the deal with all that huffing and puffing? Will Mr. Canis be forced to answer for his crimes? A kangaroo court of Everafters, led by the cruel Queen of Hearts, is determined to find Canis guilty and force the Grimms out of Ferryport Landing. Meanwhile, Puck has decided to focus more on his mischievous ways, making a few new troublemaker friends. So it's up to Sabrina and Daphne to find evidence to save Canis - and their investigation may reveal more than they hoped.
Click here for more information.